Notable Honors and Awards for Five African American Acdemics

Keith Johnson, professor and chair of the department of engineering, engineering technology and surveying at East Tennessee State University, has received the 2019 Frederick J. Berger Award from the American Society of Engineering Education. He was recognized for his significant contributions to engineering technology education.

Dr. Johnson is a graduate of North Carolina A&T State University. He holds a Ph.D. from Ohio State University.

The Mississippi Writers Trail honored the literary contributions of Margaret Walker with the dedication of a marker at the Margaret Walker Center at Jackson State University. Margaret Walker’s seminal volume of poetry, For My People, won the 1942 Yale Prize. In 1949, she began a 30-year career at what is now Jackson State University. After decades of research she published her novel Jubilee in 1966, ushering a genre of modern slave narratives. In 1968, Professor Walker founded an institute at the university to preserve and interpret African-American history and culture. The institute is now known as the Margaret Walker Center. Walker died in 1998.

Dr. Walker was a graduate of Northwestern University. She held a master’s degree and Ph.D. both from the University of Iowa.

Leykia Nulan, director of freshman admissions and assistant provost for diversity and enrollment at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst, has received the 2019 Professional of the Year award from the New England Association for College Admission Counseling. She was honored for her contributions to the field of college admission and counseling.

Nulan is a graduate of Wheaton College where she majored in sociology. She holds a master’s degree in higher education from the University of Pennsylvania.

Henry N. Tisdale, outgoing president of Claflin University in South Carolina, will receive the 2019 Global Vision Award from the Columbia World Affairs Council at a ceremony in Columbia, South Carolina, on October 23. The award is presented annually to a leader whose contributions have made a significant impact on projecting South Carolina globally.

Tisdale is an honors graduate of Claflin University.

Louis Jones, field archivist for the Walter P. Reuther Library and adjunct professor in the School of Information Sciences at Wayne State University in Detroit, will be inducted into the Society of American Archivists during a ceremony in August. The distinction of fellow is the highest honor bestowed upon individuals by the organization and is awarded for outstanding contributions to the archives profession.

Dr. Jones is a graduate of Morehouse College in Atlanta, where he majored in history. He holds a master of professional studies degree in African and Afro-American studies from Cornell University, a master’s degree in history from the University of Delaware, and a Ph.D. in history from Wayne State University.



Leave a Reply

Due to incidents of abuse and harassment that have occurred in the past, JBHE will not publish telephone numbers or email addresses of individuals in this space. If you want to contact someone in a particular article, we suggest you contact them directly not in an open forum.