National Institute on Aging

Five Finalists Announced for the Inaugural Harriet Tubman Prize

HarrietTubmanHeadThe Lapidus Center for the Historical Analysis of Transatlantic Slavery at the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture of the New York Public Library has chosen five finalists for the inaugural Harriet Tubman Prize. The award recognizes the best book of the year on slavery, the slave trade, or anti-slavery topics. The winner will be announced in November.

dioufSylviane A. Diouf, director of the Lapidus Center stated that “there is a new interest in slavery in film, television, and fiction, but the fantastic scholarship that undergirds it all is much less known although it has been around for many years. The Harriet Tubman Prize and the scholars’ conversations we offer are meant to help bring this history to a larger public.”

The five books that are finalists for the award are:

Rethinking Slave Rebellion in Cuba:
La Escalera and the Insurgencies of 1841-1844

by Aisha K. Finch
(University of North Carolina Press)

Slave Against Slave:
Plantation Violence in the Old South

by Jeff Forret
(Louisiana State University Press)

The Business of Slavery and the Rise of American Capitalism, 1815-1860
by Calvin Schermerhorn
(Yale University Press)

Leave a Reply

Due to incidents of abuse and harassment that have occurred in the past, JBHE will not publish telephone numbers or email addresses of individuals in this space. If you want to contact someone in a particular article, we suggest you contact them directly not in an open forum.