Four African American Scholars Selected for Prestigious Honors

BakerRichard S. Baker, vice dean for medical education at Wayne State University in Detroit, received the Ethnic Physician Leadership Award from the Network of Ethnic Physician Organizations for his “tireless work and dedication to eliminating health disparities in underserved communities.”

Before joining the faculty at Wayne State earlier this year, Dr. Baker was the executive director of the Center for Health Services Research and chair of the department of ophthalmology at the Charles Drew University of Medicine and Science in Los Angeles. Dr. Baker is a graduate of Stanford University and Harvard Medical School.

reeceE. Albert Reece, dean of the University of Maryland School of Medicine, received the 2015 David E. Rodgers Award from the Association of American Medical Colleges. The award recognizes an individual who has “made major contributions to improving the health and health care of the American people.”

Dr. Reece has been dean of the University of Maryland School of Medicine since 2006. He also serves as the John Z. and Akiko Bowers Distinguished Professor at the school. Dr. Reese earned his medical degree at New York University. He also holds an MBA from Temple University in Philadelphia and a Ph.D. in biochemistry from the University of the West Indies in Kingston, Jamaica.

Cumming.Twyla_.jpgTwyla J. Cummings, senior associate dean of the College of Imaging Arts and Sciences and a professor in the School of Media Sciences at the Rochester Institute of Technology, has been selected to receive the 2015 Naomi Berber Memorial Award from the Ben Franklin Society of the Printing Industries of America.

Professor Cummings holds a bachelor’s degree in chemistry and a master’s degree in business and industrial management from Wright State University in Dayton, Ohio. She earned a doctorate in business management from the Union Institute and University in Cincinnati.

Wright-JacksonJackson T. Wright Jr., professor in the School of Medicine at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland, Ohio, received the 2015 Clinical Research Prize for Outstanding Achievement in Cardiovascular Science from the American Heart Association.

Dr. Wright holds a medical degree and a Ph.D. in pharmacology from the University of Pittsburgh and completed his internal medicine residency at the University of Michigan.


Leave a Reply

Due to incidents of abuse and harassment that have occurred in the past, JBHE will not publish telephone numbers or email addresses of individuals in this space. If you want to contact someone in a particular article, we suggest you contact them directly not in an open forum.