Four HBCUs Join the Maryland-D.C. Campus Compact

Four historically Black universities are among the 30 members of the new Maryland-D.C. Campus Compact. The Maryland Compact was created in 2008 but was expanded to include the District of Columbia institutions at a ceremony this past Friday. The HBCU member institutions of the new compact are Coppin State University, Morgan State University, the University of the District of Columbia, and the University of Maryland Eastern Shore.

The compact has a stated goal of “advocating, supporting, and increasing student involvement in academic and co-curricular based public service. It aims to strengthen the capacity of member institutions to serve society; to enhance student learning; and to develop in individual students the knowledge, skills, attitudes, and habits of civic responsibility locally and globally.”

In announcing her institution’s participation in the compact, University of Maryland Eastern Shore president Juliette B. Bell stated, “I believe that personal and social responsibility are essential attributes of an educated citizenry. We have the capacity and responsibility of making civic learning and engagement integral components of the educational enterprise here at UMES.”


Leave a Reply

Due to incidents of abuse and harassment that have occurred in the past, JBHE will not publish telephone numbers or email addresses of individuals in this space. If you want to contact someone in a particular article, we suggest you contact them directly not in an open forum.