Prestigious Awards for Three Black Scholars

Sade Kosoko-Lasaki, professor of ophthalmology and associate vice president of the Office of Multicultural and Community Affairs of Creighton University Health Sciences, received the John P. Schlegel S.J. Diversity Award for Excellence and Innovation. The award is given to individuals who foster greater diversity at the university which is located in Omaha, Nebraska.

Dr. Kosoko-Lasaki received her medical training at the University of Ibadan in Nigeria.

Gloria Boutte, the Yvonne and Schuyler Moore Child Advocacy Distinguished Chair of Early Childhood Education at the University of South Carolina, received the university’s Social Justice Award. The faculty award recognizes outstanding accomplishments in teaching, research, and community service to advance understanding of underrepresented groups.

Dr. Boutte has been on the faculty at the university since 2007. She previously taught at Benedict College in Columbia, South Carolina. Professor Boutte is a graduate of Johnson C. Smith University in Charlotte. She holds a master’s degree from the University of Iowa and a doctorate from the University of South Carolina.

Sulayman S. Nyang, a professor of African studies, received the Howard University Lifetime Achievement Award for his 40-year career in higher education.

A native of Gambia in West African, Dr. Nyang is the author of 11 books, many of which have been written in order to foster a greater understanding of Islam among Americans. Dr. Nyang holds a master of public administration degree and a Ph.D. in government from the University of Virginia.


Leave a Reply

Due to incidents of abuse and harassment that have occurred in the past, JBHE will not publish telephone numbers or email addresses of individuals in this space. If you want to contact someone in a particular article, we suggest you contact them directly not in an open forum.