New Pan African University Launched

The new year brings the official launch of Pan African University, a five campus consortium for graduate training and research. The university, an initiative of the African Union will have five hubs, each concentrating on a specific discipline. Each hub university will operate satellite campuses.

• Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology in Kenya will focus on basic sciences and technology.

• The University of Ibadan in Nigeria will focus on life and earth sciences.

• The University of Yaounde in Cameroon will be the hub institution for the study of governance, humanities, and the social sciences.

• A university in southern Africa will be selected as the hub institution for space science research.

• A university in northern Africa will serve as the hub institution for the study of water, energy sciences, and climate change.

The first 100 students from all regions of Africa are expected to enroll next fall with full scholarships.



Leave a Reply

Due to incidents of abuse and harassment that have occurred in the past, JBHE will not publish telephone numbers or email addresses of individuals in this space. If you want to contact someone in a particular article, we suggest you contact them directly not in an open forum.