Honors and Awards

Gail. F. Baker, dean of the College of Communication, Fine Arts, and Media at the University of Nebraska at Omaha, won an Emmy Award for writing for the television documentary DuSable to Obama: Chicago’s Black Metropolis. She shared the award with two other members of her writing team.

Dean Baker is a graduate of Northwestern University. She earned a master’s degree at Roosevelt University and a Ph.D. at the University of Missouri.

Aretha F. Marbley, an associate professor in the College of Education at Texas Tech University, received an award as the Outstanding Counselor Educator Advocate from the Texas Counselors for Social Justice.

Dr. Marbley is a graduate of the University of Illinois. She holds a master’s degree from Northeastern Illinois University and a doctorate in counselor education from the University of Arkansas.

Author Edwidge Danticat received the Langston Hughes Medal from the City College of New York. The award is given to African-American writers who entertain readers and inspire social change.

Danticat, is a native of Haiti, but came to the United States at the age of 12. She is the author of Brother, I’m Dying, a work that won the 2007 National Book Critics Award. Her highly regarded collection of short stories, Krik? Krak!, was a finalist for the National Book Award.

Danticat is a graduate of Barnard College and holds a master of fine arts degree in creative writing from Brown University. She has taught creative writing at New York University and the University of Miami.

Bates College in Maine is renaming its campus chapel to honor the late Peter J. Gomes, a Bates alumnus who was the Plummer Professor of Christian Morals and Pusey Minister of the Memorial Church at Harvard University.

Gomes, who died earlier this year, was born in Boston and attended public schools in Plymouth. He was a 1965 graduate of Bates College and held a graduate degree from Harvard Divinity School. He served on the Harvard faculty for more than 40 years.

Leonard Jack Jr., associate dean for research in the College of Pharmacy at Xavier University in New Orleans, received the Distinguished Fellow Award, the highest honor bestowed by the Society for Public Health Education (SOPHE). He was honored for “decades of groundbreaking contributions to public health scholarship and practice.”

In 2010, Dr. Jack was named editor-in-chief of SOPHE’s journal Health Promotion Practice. Dr. Jack is a graduate of Virginia State University. He holds master’s and doctoral degrees from Pennsylvania State University.

Deryl Bailey, an associate professor of education at the University of Georgia, received the 2011 Courtland C. Lee Social Justice Award from the Southern Association for Counselor Education and Supervision. Dr. Bailey joined the faculty at the University of Georgia in 2000.

Professor Bailey holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Campbell University in North Carolina. He earned a doctorate in counselor education at the University of Virginia.

Donald Julian Reeves, chancellor of Winston-Salem State University in North Carolina, had the new student activities center on campus named in his honor. The university broke ground on the new three-story, 96,000-square-foot center in March and it is expected to be completed in the spring of 2013.

Dr. Reeves has been chancellor since 2007. He is a graduate of Cleveland State University and holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in political science from Kent State University.



Leave a Reply

Due to incidents of abuse and harassment that have occurred in the past, JBHE will not publish telephone numbers or email addresses of individuals in this space. If you want to contact someone in a particular article, we suggest you contact them directly not in an open forum.