National Institute on Aging

Five Honored With James Weldon Johnson Medals

The James Weldon Johnson Institute for the Study of Race and Difference at Emory University has announced five recipients of the James Weldon Johnson Medal. The medals are awarded to individuals with “a deep and unwavering commitment to civil and human rights.”

• Henry Aaron is a member of baseball’s Hall of Fame and the founder of the Chasing the Dream Foundation.

• Abdullahi Ahmed An-Na’im is the Charles Howard Candler Professor of Law at Emory University and the director of the Center for International and Comparative Law.

• Xerona Clayton is the founder and CEO of the Trumpet Awards Foundation. She was employed by Turner Broadcasting for 30 years.

• Willie Christine King Farris is an associate professor of education and director of the Learning Resources Center at Spelman College. She is the only living sibling of Martin Luther King Jr.

• Wole Soyinka is Woodruff Professor Emeritus at Emory and the winner of the 1986 Nobel Prize for Literature.


Leave a Reply

Due to incidents of abuse and harassment that have occurred in the past, JBHE will not publish telephone numbers or email addresses of individuals in this space. If you want to contact someone in a particular article, we suggest you contact them directly not in an open forum.