Honors and Awards

• Moustapha Diack, a professor in the doctoral program of science and mathematics education at Southern University in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, received the 2011 Distinguished Service Award from Multimedia Educational Resources for Learning and Online Teaching (MERLOT). Professor Diack was honored for his work to create the MERLOT Africa Network of online learning materials and faculty support services.

Later this month, Henry Tisdale, president of Claflin University in Orangeburg, South Carolina, will be inducted into the National Black College Alumni Hall of Fame. He is the only college president among the 23 inductees this year.

Dr. Tisdale is a magna cum laude graduate of Claflin. He was the first African American to earn a doctorate in mathematics at Dartmouth College. He has been president of Claflin since 1994.

• James M. Jones, a professor of psychology and African-American studies at the University of Delaware, received the Award for Outstanding Lifetime Contributions to Psychology from the American Psychological Association (APA). The award is the association’s highest honor.

Professor Jones has been on the University of Delaware faculty since 1982 and has worked with the APA since 1977. He is the author of Prejudice and Racism.

A graduate of Oberlin College, Professor Jones earned a master’s degree at Temple University and a Ph.D. at Yale University.

• Keith C. Norris, professor of medicine and executive vice president for research and health affairs at the Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science in Los Angeles, received the Meritorious Achievement Award from the National Medical Association.

Dr. Norris is a graduate of Cornell University and received his medical degree at Howard University.

Leave a Reply

Due to incidents of abuse and harassment that have occurred in the past, JBHE will not publish telephone numbers or email addresses of individuals in this space. If you want to contact someone in a particular article, we suggest you contact them directly not in an open forum.