University of South Carolina — Tenure-Track or Tenured Faculty Positions, College of Arts & Sciences

The College of Arts & Sciences ( seeking candidates for tenure-track or tenured faculty positions in the:

  • African American Studies Program
  • Department of Anthropology
  • Department of Biological Sciences
  • Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice 
  • Department of English, Language and Literature
  • Film and Media Studies Program
  • Department of History
  • Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of Physics and Astronomy
  • Department of Political Science
  • Department of Psychology
  • Department of Sociology
  • Department of Statistics
  • School of the Earth, Ocean and Environment
  • School of Visual Art and Design
  • Department of Theatre and Dance
  • Walker Institute
  • Women’s and Gender Studies Program

For more information and to apply: Please visit and filter the results for faculty positions in the respective department or by the College of Arts and Sciences job openings. You can also visit the departmental website for more information.

Qualifications: Terminal degree in relevant field, scholarly publication record, and teaching experience. 

The College of Arts & Sciences is the largest unit of the University of South Carolina ( We are the intellectual, artistic, scientific and instructional heart of the university. We are home to a variety of academic departments, schools and programs, offering 42 undergraduate majors and 35 minors. Additionally, our research facilities encourage innovation and research among our faculty and students.

The University of South Carolina System is comprised of the state’s flagship university in Columbia, South Carolina (founded in 1801 and currently one of the top 50 “Best Colleges” according to U.S. News and World Report), three regional comprehensive universities (Aiken, Beaufort and Upstate), and Palmetto College consisting of four two-year campuses (Lancaster, Salkehatchie, Sumter, Union and Fort Jackson/Extended University). Together, the USC System institutions offer more than 450-degree programs on campus and online and are uniquely positioned to meet the state’s educational, cultural, health and research needs. Our diverse engaged faculty and staff enjoy a dynamic and intellectually stimulating work environment.

At the University of South Carolina, we strive to cultivate an inclusive environment that is open, welcoming, and supportive of individuals of all backgrounds. We recognize diversity in our workforce is essential to providing academic excellence and critical to our sustainability. The University is committed to eliminating barriers created by institutional discrimination through accountability and continuous process improvement. We celebrate the diverse voices, perspectives, and experiences of our employees.

The University of South Carolina, through the State of South Carolina and Public Employee Benefit Authority (PEBA), offers state employees a valuable benefits package, including health and life insurance, generous paid leave and retirement programs. 

The University of South Carolina is an affirmative action, equal opportunity employer.  Minorities and women are encouraged to apply. The University of South Carolina does not discriminate in educational or employment opportunities on the basis of race, sex, gender, age, color, religion, national origin, disability, sexual orientation, genetics, protected veteran status, pregnancy, childbirth or related medical conditions.