Albany State University Announces a Restructuring of Its Academic Colleges

Albany State University, the historically Black educational institution in Georgia, has announced a restructuring of its academic units. The university will now have three academic colleges instead of five.

The new College of Professional Studies will include the former College of Business and the College of Education. The new College of Arts and Sciences will house the former College of Arts and Humanities and the College of Sciences and Technology. The third academic unit will be the Darton College of Health Professions.

The departments of social work, criminal justice and military science and the master of public administration degree program will be transferred to the new College of Professional Studies.

The new College of Arts and Sciences will include the departments of psychology and sociology; English, modern languages and mass communication; visual and performing arts; history and political science; mathematics and computer science; chemistry and forensic science, and biological sciences.

Marion Fedrick, president of Albany State University, stated that “these changes are necessary and vital to the instruction of our students, operational efficiency and structural effectiveness. Overall, these changes will streamline academic administration, provide for program synergies and strengthen the foundation of collaboration between our colleges.”


Leave a Reply

Due to incidents of abuse and harassment that have occurred in the past, JBHE will not publish telephone numbers or email addresses of individuals in this space. If you want to contact someone in a particular article, we suggest you contact them directly not in an open forum.