Three African American Men in Higher Education Receive Prestigious Awards

KimbroughWalter Kimbrough, president of Dillard University in New Orleans, recently received the 2016 Advocate for Higher Education Award from the Counselors to Higher Education section of the Public Relations Society of America. Dr. Kimbrough is the first president of a historically Black college or university to win the award.

Dr. Kimbrough became president of Dillard University in 2012 after serving as president of Philander Smith College in Little Rock, Arkansas. Dr. Kimbrough is a graduate of the University of Georgia. He holds a master’s degree from Miami University and a doctorate in higher education from Georgia State University.

Johnson_0Joseph A. Johnson III, a noted physicist, received the Bouchet Leadership Award Medal at the Bouchet Conference on Diversity and Graduate Education at Yale University. Dr. Johnson  was honored for this efforts to diversify higher education, his efforts at mentoring students, and for outstanding work in his field. During his long career, Dr. Johnson held faculty positions at Yale University, Southern University, Rutgers University, City College of New York, and Florida A&M University.

Professor Johnson holds master’s and Ph.D. degrees from Yale University.

warnerIsiah Warner, the Phillip W. West Professor of Chemistry and vice president for strategic initiatives at Louisiana State University in Baton Rouge, was named the 2016 Professor of the Year in the Southeastern Conference. The conference is made up of 14 universities.

Dr. Warner is a graduate of Southern University in Baton Rouge. He earned a Ph.D. in chemistry from the University of Washington.


Leave a Reply

Due to incidents of abuse and harassment that have occurred in the past, JBHE will not publish telephone numbers or email addresses of individuals in this space. If you want to contact someone in a particular article, we suggest you contact them directly not in an open forum.