Honors and Awards for Five Black Scholars

Price_275The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation has given $2 million to Rutgers University-Newark for the establishment of a new chair honoring the late Clement A. Price. The holder of the new Clement A Price Endowed Chair in Public History and Humanities will also serve as director of the Institute on Ethnicity, Culture and the Modern Experience.

Professor Price served on the Rutgers University faculty from 1975 until his death in 2014. He was co-editor of the three-volume Slave Culture: A Documentary Collection of the Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers’ Project (Greenwood Publishing, 2004).

Thomas EppsThomas H. Epps III, the Thomas and Kipp Gutshall Associate Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at the University of Delaware, received the 2016 John H. Dillon Medal from the American Physical Society. He is being honored for “significant advances in the control, characterization, and understanding of polymer structure and energetics.”

Dr. Epps joined the faculty at the University of Delaware as an assistant professor in 2006. Professor Epps holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He earned  Ph.D. at the University of Minnesota.

colemanJames E. Coleman Jr., the John S. Bradway Professor of the Practice of Law at Duke University, has received the Raeder-Taslitz Award from the Criminal Justice Section of the American Bar Association. Professor Coleman has been on the faculty at Duke since 1996. He is the former deputy general counsel at the U.S. Department of Education.

Professor Coleman is a graduate of Harvard University and Columbia Law School.

ngondiKamatukaNgondi Kamatuka, director of the Center for Educational Opportunity Programs in the Achievement & Assessment Institute at the University of Kansas, was honored with the presentation of the Walter O. Mason Award from the Council for Opportunity in Education.

Dr. Kamatuka is a graduate of Tabor College in Hillsboro, Kansas. He holds master’s and doctoral degrees in education from the University of Kansas.

Sheila Jackson, the first African American graduate of the School of Architecture at Mississippi State University in Starkville, is having a scholarship program named in her honor. The Sheila Rene Jackson Memorial Endowed Scholarship was established with a gift from her sister and other family members.

Jackson graduated from Mississippi State University in 1984 and went on to a career with the city of Atlanta and the Georgia Institute of Technology Research Institute.


Leave a Reply

Due to incidents of abuse and harassment that have occurred in the past, JBHE will not publish telephone numbers or email addresses of individuals in this space. If you want to contact someone in a particular article, we suggest you contact them directly not in an open forum.