Five African American Academics Honored With Major Awards

Roslin-Growe-webRoslin Growe, a professor of educational foundations and leadership at the University of Louisiana Lafayette, received the 2015 Dr. Frank T. Hawkins Distinguished Scholar Award from the Research Association of Minority Professors.

Dr. Growe holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Ouachita Baptist University in Arkadelphia, Arkansas. She earned a master of library and information science degree from the University of Mississippi and a doctorate in educational administration and supervision from Mississippi State University.

quintardtaylorQuintard Taylor, the Scott and Dorothy Bullitt Professor of American History at the University of Washington, has accepted the 2015 Carter G. Woodson Award from the National Education Association and the Association for the Study of African American Life and History in honor of the website he founded,

Dr. Taylor is a graduate of Saint Augustine’s University in Raleigh, North Carolina. He holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in history from the University of Minnesota.

Chisholm-BurnsMarie Chisholm-Burns, dean of the College of Pharmacy at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center in Memphis, received the Paul R. Dawson Award from the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy. Dr. Chisholm-Burns was honored for her research related to health services delivery and patient outcomes.

Dr. Chisholm-Burns holds a bachelor’s degree and a doctorate of pharmacy degree from the University of Georgia. She earned an MBA at the University of Memphis and a master of public health degree from Emory University in Atlanta.

tony brownTony Brown, dean emeritus and professor at the Scripps Howard School of Journalism at Hampton University in Virginia, has been selected for induction into the National Association of Black Journalists Hall of Fame. In 1971, Brown was the founding dean of the School of Communication at Howard University in Washington, D.C.

Brown, who hosted the long-running television program, Tony Brown’s Journal, holds a bachelor’s degree and a master’s degree from Wayne State University in Detroit.

AndersonNoma Anderson, dean of the College of Health Professions at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center in Memphis, has been selected to receive the Honors of the Association Award from the American Speech-Language Hearing Association. Dr. Anderson will be honored at the association’s annual convention in Denver this November.

Dr. Anderson is a graduate of Hampton University in Virginia. She holds a master’s degree in speech pathology from Emerson College in Boston and a Ph.D. in speech-language pathology from the University of Pittsburgh.


Leave a Reply

Due to incidents of abuse and harassment that have occurred in the past, JBHE will not publish telephone numbers or email addresses of individuals in this space. If you want to contact someone in a particular article, we suggest you contact them directly not in an open forum.