Stephen Mayo Appointed to CalTech’s First Division Chair

Stephen L. Mayo, Bren Professor of Biology and Chemistry at the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena, has been named the William K. Bowes Jr. Foundation Division Chair. The new division leadership chair was endowed by a $5 million donation from the San Francisco-based Bowes Foundation.

Unlike a typical endowed professorship which pays for a faculty member’s salary, the division chair will fund research projects at the discretion of Professor Mayo and his successors in the chair.

Jean-Lou Chameau, president of CalTech, explains, “This is the first in what will be a series of leadership chairs providing high-leverage, unrestricted support that the faculty who head our divisions will use to seed the Institute’s most ambitious educational and research ideas.”

Professor Mayo earned his Ph.D. at CalTech in 1987.


Leave a Reply

Due to incidents of abuse and harassment that have occurred in the past, JBHE will not publish telephone numbers or email addresses of individuals in this space. If you want to contact someone in a particular article, we suggest you contact them directly not in an open forum.