Faculty at Coppin State Approves No Confidence Resolution Regarding the University’s President

Dr. Avery

The faculty at Coppin State University has passed a motion of no confidence in the institution’s president, Reginald Avery. President Avery has led Coppin State since 2008.

According to the Baltimore Sun, 55 faculty members voted for the no confidence motion and only 13 faculty members opposed the resolution. In a letter to the chancellor of the state university system, Nicholas Eugene, president of the faculty senate, wrote that Avery “has brought neither a clear vision of mission to CSU, nor established a coherent or viable strategic plan, nor wisely allocated resources. We feel that despite the efforts of faculty, Dr. Avery’s leadership has resulted in a dilution of the academic quality at CSU.” Eugene included an eight-page summary of grievances that the faculty has presented to President Avery.

President Avery responded by announcing plans for a town hall meeting and smaller group meetings with faculty in order to improve communication.

Dr. Avery is a graduate of North Carolina A&T State University. He holds a master of social work degree from Aurora University and a doctorate from Brandeis University. Before coming to Coppin State he was provost and vice-president for academic affairs at Alma College in Michigan and then executive vice-chancellor for academic affairs at the University of South Carolina Upstate.


Leave a Reply

Due to incidents of abuse and harassment that have occurred in the past, JBHE will not publish telephone numbers or email addresses of individuals in this space. If you want to contact someone in a particular article, we suggest you contact them directly not in an open forum.