Honors and Awards

The clinical child psychology program at the University of Kansas in Lawrence received the Richard M. Suinn Minority Achievement Award from the American Psychological Association. The award is given to a psychology program that has exhibited an outstanding effort to recruit and retain minority students.

Seven scholars at historically black colleges and universities were honored with the 2009 NOBLE Laureate Award from the National Association for Equal Opportunity in Higher Education. The award is given to scholars who have shown leadership in science, mathematics, and technology education. The seven winners are:

James Ervin Glover, professor and chair of the department of mathematics at Fort Valley State University in Georgia;

Gaston M. N’Guerekata, professor and chair of the department of mathematics at Morgan State University in Baltimore;

Doris J. Ward, associate professor of biology at Voorhees College in Denmark, South Carolina;

Matthew Edwards, professor of physics at Alabama A&M University;

Linda Hayden, director of the Center of Excellence in Remote Sensing Education and Research at Elizabeth City State University in North Carolina;

Loretta Jaggers, professor of education at Grambling State University in Louisiana; and

Gemma Douglas Beckley, chair of the department of social work at Rust College in Holly Springs, Mississippi.

Kofi Agawu, professor of music at Princeton University, received the 2009 Harrison Medal from the Ireland-based Society for Musicology. The award recognizes musical scholarship of international distinction.

Professor Agawu is a graduate of Reading University in Britain. He holds a master’s degree from King’s College in London and a Ph.D. in historical musicology from Stanford University.