Appointments, Promotions, and Resignations

• E. D’Wayne Robinson is the new associate director of athletics at Clark Atlanta University. He was the associate athletic director for compliance at Alabama State University.

Robinson is a graduate of Tougaloo College. He holds a master’s degree from Alcorn State University and is currently pursuing a doctorate in higher education administration.

• Debra Matthews was appointed chair of the English department at Macon State College in Georgia. Professor Matthews has been on the Macon State faculty for 20 years.

Dr. Matthews is a graduate of Albany State University. She holds a master’s degree from Howard University and a Ph.D. in English from Georgia State University.

• Maria Arvelo Lumpkin is the new director of the Alfonso Elder Student Union at North Carolina Central University in Durham. She was the director of student life and engagement at Spelman College in Atlanta.

Dr. Lumpkin is a graduate of Saint Augustine’s College in Raleigh, North Carolina. She holds a master’s degree in urban studies from Old Dominion University and a doctorate in educational leadership from Clark Atlanta University.

• Doria Kathy Stitts was appointed associate provost for lifelong learning programs at Winston-Salem State University in North Carolina. She has been an associate professor of marketing and associate dean of the business school at WSSU since 2003.

Dr. Stitts holds a bachelor’s degree and an MBA from Florida A&M University and a Ph.D. in marketing from Florida State University.

• Patricia Williams Lessane was named director of the Avery Research Center for African American History and Culture at the College of Charleston. She was an assistant professor of social science and humanities at Roosevelt University in Chicago.

A graduate of Fisk University, Dr. Lessane holds a master’s degree from Dartmouth College and a Ph.D. in anthropology from the University of Illinois at Chicago.

• Malverse A. Nicholson Jr. was appointed dean of college life services at Prince George’s Community College in Maryland. He was director of student activities and judicial affairs at Virginia State University.

Nicholson is a graduate of Hampton University and holds a master’s degree from Norfolk State University.

• La Vonne I. Neal is the new dean of the College of Education at Northern Illinois University in DeKalb. She was dean of the College of Education at the University of Colorado at Colorado Springs.

Dr. Neal holds master’s and doctoral degrees from the University of Texas at Austin. She is the co-editor of Black History Bulletin.

• Brenda Priestly Jackson was named special adviser to the interim president of Edward Waters College in Jacksonville, Florida. Jackson is currently chair of the Duval County School Board.

• Ansel Brown, assistant professor of political science at North Carolina Central University in Durham, was named dean of the University Honors Program.

Brown is a graduate of North Carolina Central University and Harvard Law School.

• Adrian L. Jackson was named associate general counsel at Emory University in Atlanta. He was the primary real estate attorney for the city of Atlanta from 2006 to 2010.

Jackson is a graduate of Harvard University and the Duke University School of Law.