G. Nathan Carnes, associate professor of education at the University of South Carolina, received the Outstanding Science Teacher Educator of the Year Award from the Association of Science Teacher Education.

A graduate of Miami University in Ohio, Professor Carnes holds two master’s degrees from Wright State University and an educational doctorate from Miami University.

John Hope Franklin, James B. Duke Professor of History Emeritus at Duke University, received the 2007 Freedom Award from the National Civil Rights Museum in Memphis, Tennessee.