Honors and Awards

• Sean B. Seymore, assistant professor of law at Washington & Lee University, received a Law Alumni Faculty Fellowship for excellence in scholarship. Dr. Seymore holds a bachelor's degree from the University of Tennessee, a master's degree from Georgia Tech, a Ph.D. in chemistry and a law degree, both from the University of Notre Dame.

• Valerie Smith, the Woodrow Wilson Professor of Literature and director of the Center for African-American Studies at Princeton University, received the President’s Award for Distinguished Teaching at the Princeton University commencement.

• John Edgar Wideman, the novelist and Asa Messer Professor of Africana studies and English at Brown University, was named the 2009 Janet Weiss Fellow in Contemporary Letters at Bucknell University. Professor Wideman will receive the award and give a lecture at Bucknell this September.

• Edwin C. Marshall, vice president for diversity, equity, and multicultural affairs and professor of optometry at Indiana University in Bloomington, was elected into the National Optometry Hall of Fame. He is the 48th optometrist who has been so honored.

• Sid H. Credle was the recipient of the 2009 National Achievement Education Award from the National Association of Black Accountants. Dr. Credle is dean of the School of Business at Hampton University.

• Henry McCoullum, director of science diversity initiatives and an instructor in kinesiology at the Eberly College of Science at Pennsylvania State University, won the 2009 Forum on Black Affairs Humanitarian Award. The award is given annually to a person who has provided outstanding service to African Americans in Pennsylvania.

McCoullum holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Penn State.