The U.S. Department of Defense awarded grants to 11 historically black universities to enhance educational programs and research projects in scientific disciplines related to national defense. The three-year grants range from $430,000 to $785,000.

The HBCUs receiving grants under the program are Alabama A&M University, Alcorn State University, Delaware State University, Fisk University, Hampton University, Jackson State University, North Carolina A&T State University, North Carolina Central University, Southern University-Baton Rouge, Tennessee State University, and Texas Southern University.

Delaware State University and Fisk University each received two grants.