James S. Jackson, professor of psychology and director of the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan, received the 2007 James McKeen Cattell Fellow Award from the Association of Psychological Science. The award is given to a scholar for lifetime achievement in applied psychological research.

Henry Louis Gates Jr., Fletcher University Professor and director of the W.E.B. Du Bois Center for African and African-American Research at Harvard University, will receive the inaugural Gordon Parks Foundation Award on June 18 in New York City.

Benjamin Carson, professor and director of pediatric neurosurgery at Johns Hopkins University, was named the Ford Freedom Award Scholar at the Charles H. Wright Museum of African-American History in Detroit.

K. Anthony Appiah, the Laurance S. Rockefeller University Professor of Philosophy, received the Arthur Ross Book Award from the Council on Foreign Relations for his 2006 book Cosmopolitanism: Ethics in a World of Strangers. The award comes with a $25,000 cash prize.