Honors and Awards

• Dahalia Jackson-O’Brien, assistant professor of animal science at Delaware State University in Dover, received the Faculty Excellence in University and Community Service Award from Delaware State. She was honored for her work to help local farmers maintain the health of their livestock.

• Charlotte Reed, professor of urban education and executive director of the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning at Indiana University Northwest in Gary, was named an “Influential Woman of Northwest Indiana” by Diversified Marketing Strategies, a marketing and communications firm.

Dr. Reed is retiring from teaching this summer.

• Esther Brown, an assistant professor at the School of Nursing at Widener University in Chester, Pennsylvania, received the 2011 Distinguished New Faculty Award from the International Conference on College Teaching and Learning.

Dr. Brown is a graduate of Immaculata University in Pennsylvania. She holds a master's degree in nursing from West Chester University and an educational doctorate from Immaculata.

• Lyrae N. Van Clief-Stefanon, a poet and associate professor of English at Cornell University, received a Robert and Helen Appel Fellowship for Humanists and Social Scientists from the university. The award includes a one-semester sabbatical at full pay in order to conduct research, write, or develop curriculum.

Professor Clief-Stefanon is a graduate of Washington and Lee University and holds a master of fine arts degree from Penn State.

Elizabeth City State University in North Carolina has named its newest academic building in honor of Jacqueline and Willie Gilchrist. Willie Gilchrist is the current chancellor of ECSU. His wife Jacqueline has been an educator for 34 years.

The Willie and Jacqueline Gilchrist Education and Psychology Complex will include 15 classrooms, 53 offices for faculty, two faculty lounges and three conference rooms.

Jacqueline Gilchrist is a graduate of ECSU and holds a master’s degree from Central Michigan University. Willie Gilchrist is a 1973 graduate of ECSU and holds a master’s degree from Brockport State University and an educational doctorate from Nova Southeastern University.