Honors and Awards

• Richard G. Hatcher, former mayor of Gary, Indiana, and adjunct professor of minority studies at Indiana University Northwest, received the 2010 Distinguished Alumni Service Award from Indiana University.

• Kwame Anthony Appiah, the Laurance S. Rockefeller University Professor of Philosophy at Princeton University, received from the university the Howard T. Behrman Award for Distinguished Achievement in the Humanities.

• Thelma Golden, director and chief curator of the Studio Museum in Harlem, received the Medal of Distinction from Barnard College in New York City. Golden is a graduate of Smith College.

• William R. Harvey, president of Hampton University in Virginia, is the recipient of the Harvey C. Russell Inclusion Award from PepsiCo. Dr. Harvey is the owner of a Pepsi-Cola bottling plant in Michigan.

• Cheryl Taylor, director of nursing research at Southern University, received the Leadership Award from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention in Atlanta.

• Kimberly B. Davis, president of the JPMorgan Chase Foundation and member of the board of trustees of Spelman College, received the Distinguished Service Award from the New-York Historical Society.

• Phillip Jeter, professor and chair of the department of mass communications at Winston-Salem State University in North Carolina, was given the 2010 Edward L. Bliss Award for Distinguished Broadcast Journalism Education from the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication.

A graduate of Johnson C. Smith University in Charlotte, North Carolina, Dr. Jeter holds a master’s degree from Cornell University and a Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin.

• The Center for Civil Rights in Education at Morgan State University in Baltimore was renamed to honor Robert M. Bell, chief judge of the Maryland Court of Appeals. Bell is a graduate of Morgan State University and Harvard Law School.