Honors and Awards

• Evelynn M. Hammonds, dean of Harvard College, received the Catalyst Award from the Science Club for Girls for her efforts to enhance gender and racial diversity in science.

Dr. Hammonds is a graduate of Spelman College. She holds a master’s degree in physics from MIT and a Ph.D. in the history of science from Harvard University.

• Rita Dove, Commonwealth Professor of English at the University of Virginia, received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Fulbright Association. The author of nine books, Professor Dove is former poet laureate of the United States.

• George M. Langford, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences at Syracuse University, received the 2009 Professional Achievement Award from the Illinois Institute of Technology. Dr. Langford received a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in cell biology from IIT.

• Donald W. Murphy, CEO of the National Underground Railroad Freedom Center in Cincinnati, Ohio, was presented with the Outstanding Alumnus award from the alumni association of the University of California at San Diego.

• Annette Gordon-Reed, a law professor at New York University who also teaches on the Newark campus of Rutgers University, won the George Washington Book Prize for her book The Hemingses of Monticello: An American Family. The award comes with a $50,000 cash prize. Professor Gordon-Reed had previously won the National Book Award and the Pulitzer Prize for the same work.

Professor Gordon-Reed is a graduate of Dartmouth College and Harvard Law School.