Norma Merrick Sklarek received the 2008 Whitney Young Jr. Award from the American Institute of Architects. In 1950 Sklarek was the first African-American woman to graduate with a degree in architecture from Columbia University. She was the first black woman in the United States to become a licensed architect and in 1980 was the first African-American woman to be named a fellow of the American Institute of Architects.

Michael P. Cary Jr., a doctoral student at the University of Virginia School of Nursing, received the Minority Nurse Faculty Scholars Award from the American Association of Colleges of Nursing. The award, sponsored by Johnson & Johnson, will enable Cary to continue his studies in order to become a nursing educator and research scientist.

Steve Joyner Sr., director of athletics at Johnson C. Smith University in Charlotte, North Carolina, received the 2008 Jeanette A. Lee Athletic Administration Award from the Central Intercollegiate Athletic Conference.

Oghenekome U. Onokpise, associate dean for academic programs in the College of Engineering Sciences, Technology, and Agriculture at Florida A&M University in Tallahassee, received the Stephen Spurr Award from the Florida division of the Society of American Foresters.

Benjamin S. Carson Sr., director of pediatric neurosurgery at the Johns Hopkins University Medical Center, will be presented with the Presidential Medal of Freedom today at a White House ceremony.