Honors and Awards

• Henry Louis Gates Jr., Alphonse Fletcher University Professor and director of the W.E.B. Du Bois Institute for African and African American Research at Harvard University, is the recipient of the 2009 Ralph Lowell Award, public television’s most prestigious honor.

• Jeffery O. Rose, managing director of Alvarez & Marsal, a credit and risk analysis firm, and a member of the Rice University board of trustees, was given the Meritorious Service Award from the Association of Rice Alumni.

• Cynthia Tolbert Bienemy, associate professor of nursing at Southern University, received the Helen Johnson Creemens Excellence in Teaching Award from the Baton Rouge District Nurses Association.

A graduate of Southeastern University of Louisiana, Dr. Bienemy holds a master’s degree from McNeese State University and a Ph.D. in nursing from Southern University.

• Tabbye Chavous, associate professor of education at the University of Michigan, received the Harold R. Johnson Diversity Service Award from the university’s Office of the Provost.

• Monique Dorsainvil, a graduating senior at Emory University, received the Lucius Lamar McMullan Award by the university for her “outstanding citizenship, exceptional leadership, and potential for service to the community, nation, and the world.” The award comes with a $20,000 cash prize.

The new 134,000-square-foot College of Education building at Alabama State University was named Ralph Abernathy Hall in honor of the late civil rights leader. Abernathy, who was pastor of the First Baptist Church in Montgomery, succeeded Martin Luther King Jr. as president of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference.