Honors and Awards

• Tommie Morton-Young received the Distinguished Alumna Award from the Peabody College of education at Vanderbilt University. Morton-Young, the author of 10 books and a retired full professor in the University of North Carolina system, was the first black graduate of Peabody College in 1955.

Professor Morton-Young was a graduate of Tennessee State University. She earned a master’s degree at Peabody College and a doctorate at Duke University.

• Alexander Byrd, associate professor of history at Rice University in Houston, received the university’s Presidential Mentoring Award. Dr. Byrd is a graduate of Rice University and holds a Ph.D. from Duke University.

• James Hawkins, dean of the School of Journalism and Graphic Arts at Florida A&M University in Tallahassee, was named Educator of the Year by the National Association of Black Journalists. Dean Hawkins began teaching at Florida A&M in 1977.

• Harold L. Martin Sr., chancellor of North Carolina A&T State University in Greensboro, was named 2010 Distinguished Alumnus of the College of Engineering at Virginia Tech.

Dr. Martin earned bachelor’s and master’s degrees at North Carolina A&T State University and a Ph.D. in electrical engineering from Virginia Tech.

• Rudolph P. Byrd, Goodrich C. White Professor of American Studies at Emory University, received the university’s Thomas Jefferson Award for outstanding service to the educational institution.

• Karen A. Baskerville, assistant professor of biology at Lincoln University in Pennsylvania, received the university’s Hildrus A. Poindexter Distinguished Research Award.

Dr. Baskerville is a graduate of Northwestern University and holds a Ph.D. in anatomy and neurobiology from the University of Tennessee.

The Office of Community Relations at Cornell University received the Judges’ Citation award from the Council for University Advancement of the State University of New York. The office was commended for holding community forums to deal with racism in local schools and businesses.