Honors and Awards

• Olusola Adesope, an assistant professor of education at Washington State University received the 2011 G.M. Dunlop Award from the Canadian Association for Educational Psychology for his research on whether visual or audio teaching techniques are more effective.

Professor Adesope earned a Ph.D. from Simon Fraser University in British Columbia.

• Leo E. Rouse, dean of the College of Dentistry at Howard University in Washington, D.C., received the Sterling V. Mead Award from the District of Columbia Dental Society for his research contributions to the dental profession.

Dr. Rouse received his dental training at Howard University.

• LeRoy Pernell, dean of the College of Law at Florida A&M University, received the Alumni Citation from Franklin and Marshall College in Lancaster, Pennsylvania.

Dean Pernell is a 1971 graduate of Franklin and Marshall and earned his law degree at Ohio State University.

• Nicola Edwards-Omolewa, an assistant professor of mathematics at Delaware State University in Dover, received the university’s 2011 Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award.

• Verjanis Peoples, dean of the College of Education at Southern University in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, received the Empowering Leaders in Education Award from the president of the Southern University chapter of Phi Delta Kappa International.

Dr. Peoples holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Grambling State University and a doctorate from Kansas State University.