Honors and Awards

• Bevlee Whatford, associate dean of the College of Engineering at Virginia Tech, received the 2009 Distinguished Alumni Award from the university’s department of mining and minerals engineering.

Dr. Whatford holds bachelor’s, master’s, and Ph.D. degrees from Virginia Tech.

• Ellington Graves, assistant professor of sociology at Virginia Tech, received the university's 2009 Edward S. Diggs Teaching Scholars Award. Graves also serves as assistant director of the Center for Africana Studies and Race and Social Policy Research.

Dr. Graves is a graduate of Johns Hopkins University. He holds a master’s degree from Virginia Tech, and a Ph.D. in sociology from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

• Doretha B. Foushee, associate professor in the College of Arts and Sciences at North Carolina A&T State University, received the University of North Carolina Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching.

• Merlin R. Langley, associate professor and chair of the department of social work at Florida A&M University in Tallahassee, received the 2009 Minority Serving Institution Faculty Scholar in Cancer Research award from the American Association for Cancer Research. Professor Langley was honored for his work in prostate cancer prevention.

• Teveia Rose Barnes, a partner of the law firm Foley & Lardner and a member of the Rice University board of trustees, was given the Meritorious Service Award from the Association of Rice Alumni.

• Genee Robinson, a graduating senior at Howard University who is majoring in fashion merchandising, received the Reginald F. Lewis Scholar Prize from the Reginald Lewis Foundation. The award, which comes with a $10,000 cash prize, goes to the Howard student who shows the most improvement in grade point average between the sophomore and senior years.

• Daniel Washington, associate dean for faculty affairs and associate professor in the School of Music, Theatre, and Dance at the University of Michigan, received the Harold R. Johnson Diversity Service Award from the university’s Office of the Provost.