Honors and Awards

• Haroleen Ray, dean of student services at Tidewater Community College in Portsmouth, Virginia, was presented with the college’s Martin Luther King Jr. College Distinguished Service Award. In 1970 Ray was the first black faculty member in the psychology department at the college.

• Samuel F. Coppage Jr., associate professor of information technology at Old Dominion University in Norfolk, Virginia, received the Martin Luther King Jr. Community Distinguished Service Award from Tidewater Community College.

• Isaac Crumbly, professor and director of the Cooperative Developmental Energy Program at Fort Valley State University in Georgia, received the Lifetime Achievement in Academia award from the National Society of Black Engineers.

• Shirley Larkins Green, a board-certified anesthesiologist in California, received the Founders Spirit Award from Spelman College. Dr. Green is a graduate of Spelman College and Meharry Medical College.

• Candice M. Jenkins, professor of English at Hunter College in New York City, received the William Sanders Scarborough Prize from the Modern Language Association of America. Professor Jenkins was honored for her book Private Lives, Proper Relations: Regulating Black Intimacy.

The Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at historically black Florida A&M University in Tallahassee won the 2009 Engineering Award for Connecting Professional Practice and Education from the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying. The award was given for the department’s work on two restoration projects in the Florida Everglades.