Thirteen New Black Fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

This year, 210 new fellows were elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. As in past years, the academy has not disclosed the racial makeup of the new members. But through an analysis of the new members list, JBHE has been able to determine that at least 13 of the 210 new members are black. The 13 new black members are the largest group since JBHE began tracking inductees. In 2008 there were only four new black fellows to the academy. In both 2006 and 2007, seven new black members were elected to the academy.

Following is a list of the 13 new black members of the academy.

Danielle Allen is the UPS Foundation Professor in the School of Social Science at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, New Jersey.

Kenny Barron is a visiting professor at the Manhattan School of Music in New York City.

Stanley Crouch is a columnist for the New York Daily News.

Scott Vernon Edwards is Alexander Agassiz Professor of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology at Harvard University.

Eve J. Higginbotham is dean, senior vice president for academic affairs, and professor of surgery at the Morehouse School of Medicine in Atlanta.

Bill T. Jones is cofounder and artistic director at the Bill T. Jones/Arnie Zane Dance Company in New York City.

James Earl Jones is an accomplished actor who has won two Tony Awards on Broadway.

William Chester Jordan is Dayton-Stockton Professor of History and chair of the history department at Princeton University.

Jamaica Kincaid is a visiting lecturer in English and African and African-American studies at Harvard University.

Edward L. Miles is Virginia and Prentice Bloedel Professor of Marine Studies and Public Affairs at the University of Washington.

Colin L. Powell is the former chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff. He served as secretary of state in the administration of George W. Bush.

Emilie M. Townes is Andrew W. Mellon Professor of African-American Religion and Theology at Yale Divinity School.

Warren Morton Washington is senior scientist and section head for climate change research at the National Center for Atmospheric Research in Boulder, Colorado.