Honors and Awards

• Paula Walker, an associate professor of health science at Columbus State University in Georgia, was named the university’s 2011 Educator of the Year. A former emergency room physician, Walker joined the university’s faculty in 2005.

Dr. Walker is a graduate of Howard University and the medical school at Wayne State University.

• Trudie Kibbe Reed, president of Bethune-Cookman University in Daytona Beach, Florida, received the Power Award from the National Action Network, the New York City social justice organization led by Rev. Al Sharpton.

Dr. Reed earned bachelor’s and master’s degree from the University of Texas. She earned a second master’s degree and an educational doctorate from Columbia University.

An endowed professorship has been established at North Carolina A&T State University in honor of Brigadier General Clara Adams-Ender. Now president of Caring About People With Enthusiasm Associates, Adams-Ender was formerly head of Army Nurse Corps.

The Brigadier General Clara Adams-Ender Endowed Professorship in Nursing Education Research was funded in part by the Spangler Foundation.

Adams-Ender is a graduate of North Carolina A&T. She received a master’s degree in nursing from the University of Minnesota and a master of military art and science degree from the Command and General Staff College in Fort Leavenworth, Kansas.

• Zack Abegunrin, vice chancellor for facilities services at North Carolina Central University in Durham, received the Good Faith Award from the State Office for Historically Underutilized Businesses. He was honored for his efforts to increase diversity among contractors hired for university construction projects.

• Leroy Davis Sr., who served as president of South Carolina State University from 1996 to 2002, was honored by the naming of a building on campus. The Leroy Davis Sr. Science and Research Complex will house the university’s  biology and physical sciences departments.