Five Finalists Named for the Presidency of South Carolina State University

South Carolina State University, the historically black educational institution in Orangeburg, has announced the five people selected as finalists for the position of university president. All five finalists will be invited to campus to meet with students, faculty, and administrators. The university expects the new president will take office on July 1.

The five finalists are:

Johnson O. Akinleye, associate vice chancellor for academic programs at the University of North Carolina at Wilmington;

Juliette B. Bell, provost and vice chancellor for academic affairs at Fayetteville State University in North Carolina;

George E. Cooper, deputy administrator for science and education resources development at the U.S. Department of Agriculture;

Lawrence F. Davenport, interim president of the Paragon Foundation in West Palm Beach, Florida; and

Juanita P. Fain, vice president for planning at the University of Nevada Las Vegas.