Honors and Awards

• Kevin Young, Atticus Haygood Professor of English and Creative Writing and curator of literary collections at the Raymond Danowski Poetry Library at Emory University in Atlanta, received the Graywolf Press Nonfiction Prize. The award is given to an emerging author who has published no more than two works of nonfiction.

• Cynthia Nance, dean and professor at the University of Arkansas School of Law, was named a Woman of Influence at Arkansas Business. Nance has been dean of the law school since 2006. She is the first woman and first African American to hold the position.

• LaTisha Smith, dean of teacher education at Harris-Stowe State University in St. Louis, received the Woman of Distinction Award from the Professional Organization of Women. A graduate of the University of Missouri, she holds an educational doctorate from Nova Southeastern University.

The Department of Computational and Applied Mathematics at Rice University received the 2010 Mathematics Programs That Make a Difference Award from the American Mathematical Society. The award is given to programs that have been successful in bringing members of underrepresented minority groups into the field of mathematical sciences. Thirty-four minority students have earned Ph.D.s in mathematics at Rice over the past quarter-century.