Historically Black Norfolk State University Names a New President

Last Friday, the board of visitors at Norfolk State University chose Tony Atwater as the university’s fifth president. Dr. Atwater will assume his new duties on July 1.

Dr. Atwater is a senior fellow at the American Association of State Colleges and Universities. From 2005 to 2010, he served as president of Indiana University of Pennsylvania.

Previously, Dr. Atwater has held administrative positions at Youngstown State University, Northern Kentucky University, and the University of Toledo. Also, he chaired the department of journalism and mass media at Rutgers University.

Dr. Atwater is a graduate of Hampton University. He holds a Ph.D. in communication from Michigan State University.