• Dorothy Cowser Yancy, president of Johnson C. Smith University in Charlotte, North Carolina, was inducted into the Women’s History Hall of Fame. The Hall of Fame is administered by the National Association of Negro Business and Professional Women’s Clubs and the Levine Museum of the New South.

• Henry Lewis III, dean of the College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, received the 2008 Onyx Award for Health Initiatives given by Onyx Magazine. The award is given to individuals who have made an effort to assist minority and low-income communities.

• H. Todd Bullard, partner at the law firm Harris Beach in Rochester, New York, received the 2008 Distinguished Alumni Award from the organization Students of Color at the State University of New York at Buffalo Law School.

• Beverly Moran, professor of sociology at Vanderbilt University and professor at the Vanderbilt Law School, was named a 2008 Top Lady of Distinction by Top Ladies of Distinction, a national organization promoting opportunities for youth, improving the status of women, and assisting senior citizens.