Honors and Awards

• Johnnetta B. Cole, director of the Smithsonian National Museum of African Art and former president of Spelman College and Bennett College, received the Benjamin Franklin Creativity Laureate Award from the Smithsonian Associates and the Creativity Foundation.

Dr. Cole is a graduate of Oberlin College. She holds a master’s degree and a Ph.D. in anthropology from Northwestern University.

• John D. Calhoun, assistant professor of entrepreneurship in the College of Business at Jackson State University in Mississippi, was named 2011 Mississippi Small Business Person of the Year by the U.S. Small Business Administration. Calhoun is cofounder and CEO of Integrated Management Services.

• Naana Opoku-Agyemang, vice chancellor and chief administrator at the University of Cape Coast in Ghana, received an honorary doctorate of humane letters from Winston-Salem State University in North Carolina.

• Paula D. McClain, professor of political science, public policy, and African-American studies at Duke University, received the university’s 2011 Dean’s Award for Excellence in Mentoring.

Professor McClain holds bachelor’s, master’s, and Ph.D. degrees from Howard University.

• Aaron P. Dworkin, founder and president of the Sphinx Organization, received the Luise Vosgerchian Teaching Award from Harvard University. Dworkin, an accomplished violinist, was honored for his work to foster increased diversity in classical music.

• Vivian Gunn Morris, assistant dean for faculty and staff development for the College of Education at the University of Memphis, received the university’s Martin Luther King Human Rights Award.

• Eileen Wilson-Oyelaran, president of Kalamazoo College in Michigan, received the 2011 Lifetime Woman of Achievement Award from the YWCA of Kalamazoo.

President Wilson-Oyelaran is a graduate of Pomona College. She holds master’s and doctoral degrees from Claremont Graduate University.