Honors and Awards

• Camilla Williams, renowned opera soprano and professor of voice at the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music from 1977 to 1997, was presented with the Sagamore of the Wabash award, the highest honor bestowed by the governor of Indiana.

• Carolyn Collins, the first African-American dean of an academic college at Louisiana State University who retired in June 2009, will have a scholarship fund named in her honor at the university. Each year the Carolyn Collins Scholarship will be awarded to a freshman or sophomore who has shown a dedication to community service.

• Michelle R. Howard-Vital, president of Cheyney University of Pennsylvania, was given the Mary McLeod Bethune Award from the organization Women Cultivating Women. President Howard-Vital was honored for her lifelong work as an educator.

• Cyprian Davis, professor of church history at Saint Meinrad Seminary in Indiana, received the Acacia Award by the Office of Multicultural Ministry of the Archdiocese of Louisville. He is the author of The History of Black Catholics in the United States.

• James Lee III, associate professor of fine and performing arts at Morgan State University, won the Wladimir and Rhoda Lakond Award from the Academy of Arts and Letters. The award, which comes with a $10,000 cash prize, is given to a promising, mid-career composer.

Dr. Lee holds bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral degrees from the University of Michigan.