Honors and Awards

• Leslie Burl McLemore, professor of political science and former interim president at Jackson State University in Mississippi, received the W.E.B. Du Bois Award from the Association of Social and Behavioral Sciences.

Dr. McLemore is a 1964 graduate of Rust College in Holly Springs, Mississippi. He holds a master’s degree in political science from Atlanta University and a Ph.D. in government from the University of Massachusetts.

• Cheryl S. Taylor, director of nursing research at Southern University in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, was inducted into the Louisiana State Nurses Association Nightingale Hall of Fame.

Dr. Taylor earned her bachelor’s of science degree in nursing from Dillard University of New Orleans. She holds a master’s degree in systems-oriented community mental health nursing from the University of Washington at Seattle and a Ph.D. in nursing from Texas Woman’s University.

• Angela M. Davis, special assistant to the vice president and chief student affairs officer at the University of Virginia, received the university’s John T. Casteen III Diversity-Equity-Inclusion Leadership Award. Davis has been at the University of Virginia since 1975.

• Kenneth D. Lewis, dean of the College of Science, Mathematics, Engineering, and Technology at South Carolina State University, received the Arthur Holly Compton Award from the American Nuclear Society. Dr. Lewis is the first African American to win the award.

Dean Lewis holds a master’s degree in applied mathematics and a Ph.D. in nuclear engineering from the University of Illinois.