Honors and Awards

• Leo E. Rouse, dean of the Howard University College of Dentistry, received the 2009 Presidential Citation from the American Dental Education Association.

• Pamela Hammond, dean and professor of nursing at Hampton University in Virginia, received the 2009 Humanitarian of the Year Award from the Virginia Center for Inclusive Communities.

• Freeman A. Hrabowski III, president of the University of Maryland Baltimore County, was the recipient of the 2009 Reginald A. Wilson Diversity Leadership Award from the American Council on Education.

Dr. Hrabowski is a graduate of Hampton University. He holds a master’s degree in mathematics and a doctorate in higher education administration from the University of Illinois.

• Stephanie E. Smallwood, associate professor of history at the University of Washington, was awarded the Frederick Douglass Book Prize from the Gilder Lehrman Center for the Study of Slavery, Resistance, and Abolition at Yale University. Dr. Smallwood received the $25,000 award for her book Saltwater Slavery: A Middle Passage From Africa to American Diaspora (Harvard University Press).