Honors and Awards

• Sherry Tshibangu, assistant professor of business administration and economics at Monroe Community College in Rochester, New York, was named a recipient of the Excellence Award from the National Institute for Staff and Organizational Development.

Professor Tshibangu is a graduate of the University of Rochester and holds an MBA from Atlanta University.

• Paulette Ann Meikle-Yaw, assistant professor of sociology and community development at Delta State University in Cleveland, Mississippi, was chosen as the Black History Month Educator of the Year by the Mississippi Board of Trustees of the State Institutions of Higher Learning.

• Charles Holton, who in 1952 was the first African American to graduate from St. Norbert College in De Pere, Wisconsin, had the college’s new multicultural center named in his honor. Holton, now 79 years old, played for the Harlem Globetrotters and then embarked on a career in social work.

• Daphne C. Ferguson-Young, associate professor at the Meharry Medical College School of Dentistry, received the Colgate-Palmolive Company/National Dental Association Dr. Jeanne C. Sinkford Scholar award from the American Dental Education Association Leadership Institute.

• Wyclef Jean, a Haitian-American musician and producer, received the 2010 Artist of the Year award from the Harvard Foundation of Harvard University. Jean was honored for his humanitarian work through the Yéle Haiti Foundation.

• Bradley Collins, associate professor of surgery at the Duke University Medical Center, was the recipient of the Samuel Dubois Cook Society Award. The award, which honors Duke University’s first black faculty member, is given for service to Duke or the surrounding community.