• Isiah M. Warner, Howard Hughes Medical Institute Professor of chemistry and vice chancellor for strategic initiatives at Louisiana State University, received the 2008 Analytical Chemistry Award in spectrochemical analysis from the American Chemical Society.

Professor Warner is a graduate of Southern University. He holds a Ph.D. in chemistry from the University of Washington.

• Michael S. Harper, University Professor at Brown University, will receive the 2008 Frost Medal from the Poetry Society of America at the organization’s annual ceremony next month. The award is given for distinguished lifetime achievement in poetry.

Professor Harper holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees from California State University and a master’s of fine arts degree from the University of Iowa.