Honors and Awards

• Janet M. Haynes, assistant professor of social work at the University of Minnesota at Duluth, received the Drum Major for Peace Award from the Duluth chapter of the NAACP.

A native of Jamaica, Dr. Haynes is a graduate of Carlton University in Ottawa, Canada. She holds a master’s degree and a doctorate from McGill University in Montreal.

• A. Eugene Washington, dean and vice chancellor of health sciences of the Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA, received the Distinguished Postgraduate Achievement Award from Howard University.

Dr. Washington is a 1972 graduate of Howard University. He received his medical training at the University of California at San Francisco. He also holds master’s degrees from Harvard University and the University of California at Berkeley.

• Alvin F. Poussaint, professor of psychiatry at Harvard Medical School, received the Eliot-Person Award for Excellence in Children’s Media from Tufts University.

Dr. Poussaint is a graduate of Columbia University and earned his medical degree at Cornell University.

• William S. Parrish Jr., president and CEO of NobleStrategy, a construction management firm, and an adjunct professor at New York University, received the Martin Luther King Jr. Faculty Award from New York University.

Parrish is a graduate of Hampton University and holds a master’s degree from the Polytechnic University of New York.

• William R. Harvey, president of Hampton University in Virginia, was named 2010 Citizen of the Year by the Daily Press of Newport News, Virginia.

• Donald J. Reaves, chancellor of Winston-Salem State University in North Carolina, was named Man of the Year by the Winston-Salem Chronicle. He was honored for “expertly guiding the university through a period of budgetary strain and great changes.”