John Hope Franklin, James B. Duke Professor Emeritus of History at Duke University, is the first scholar to be appointed to the Dan and Maggie Inouye Distinguished Chair in Democratic Ideals at the University of Hawaii at Manoa. During his time as a visiting scholar at the university, Professor Franklin will participate in a number of seminars and give several lectures.

William B. Harvey, vice president and chief officer for diversity and equity at the University of Virginia, was elected the first president of the National Association of Diversity Officers in Higher Education.

Diane M. Weathers was appointed to the board of trustees of Syracuse University. Weathers, a 1971 graduate of the S.I. Newhouse School of Public Communications at Syracuse University, is the former editor of Essence magazine.