Doris Wilkinson, professor of sociology at the University of Kentucky, was presented with the Coretta Scott King Award from the Alpha Kappa Alpha sorority. In 1954 Professor Wilkinson was one of the first black students to enroll at the university. In 1968 she became the first African-American woman to be hired to a full-time faculty post at the University of Kentucky.

Dennis Jackson, director of personnel for the school system in Paducah County, Kentucky, was inducted into the Athletics Hall of Fame at Murray State University. In 1960 Jackson was the first African-American student athlete at the university.

Charlayne Hunter-Gault, Johannesburg bureau chief for CNN and one of the first two black students at the University of Georgia, received the Distinguished Achievement in Broadcasting Award from the DiGamma Kappa society at the Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Georgia.