Honors and Awards

• Michael K. Dorsey, assistant professor of environmental studies and director of the Climate Justice Research Project at Dartmouth College, received the 2011 Social Justice Award from the college.

Professor Dorsey is a graduate of the University Michigan. He holds a master’s degree from Yale University and a Ph.D. in anthropology from the University of Michigan.

• Eugene C. Johnson, a career Air Force officer who served as chair of the board of trustees of Brevard Community College, received the Julius Montgomery Pioneer Award from the Florida Institute of Technology.

• Ronald E. Snead Sr., chair of the board of trustees of Ferris State University in Big Rapids, Michigan, received the William Glenn Trailblazer Award from the Bob and Aleicia Woodrick Diversity Learning Center at Grand Rapids Community College.

• Karen Chandler, associate professor of arts management at the College of Charleston in South Carolina, received the 2010 Preserving Our Place in History Individual Award from the South Carolina African American Heritage Commission.

Dr. Chandler is a graduate of Hampton University. She holds a master’s degree from Columbia University and a Ph.D. from New York University.

• Jim Tolbert, former president of the West Virginia chapter of the NAACP, received the Martin Luther King Achievement Award from West Virginia University.

Tolbert is a 1958 graduate of West Virginia State University, where he majored in zoology.

The Ronald H. Brown Prep Program for College Students at St. John’s University School of Law in Chicago received the 2011 Raymond Pace and Sadie Tanner Mossell Alexander Award for Excellence in Pipeline Diversity from the American Bar Association’s Council for Racial and Ethnic Diversity in the Educational Pipeline.