• Rebecca Walker Steele, a professor of music at Bethune-Cookman College in Daytona Beach, Florida, received the Martin Luther King Leadership Award presented by Florida A&M University. Professor Steele was director of the university choirs and chair of the choral division of the music department at Florida A&M from 1947 to 1976.

The public relations department at Johnson C. Smith University, the historically black educational institution in Charlotte, North Carolina, received the Special Merit Award from the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education. The award was presented in recognition of the department’s magazine, The Bulletin.

Copyright © 2006. The Journal of Blacks in Higher Education. All rights reserved.