Honors and Awards

G. Dale Wesson, interim vice president for research at Florida A&M University in Tallahassee, received the Professional Chemical Engineering Award from the National Organization for the Professional Development of Black Chemists and Chemical Engineers.

The Rev. Anthony Paige, senior pastor of the First Baptist Church of Lamberts Point, Virginia, received the Hugo Owens Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Award from Old Dominion University. Reverend Paige served on the university’s board of visitors from 1995 to 2003 and currently is co-chair of the university’s task force on security.

• Larry Hawkins, director of special programs and college preparation at the University of Chicago, received the university’s Diversity Leadership Award. Hawkins has served as head of educational outreach programs for minority students since 1968.

• Joseph N. Green Jr., former vice mayor of Norfolk, Virginia, was honored by Tidewater Community College by having the regional administration building named in his honor.

• Vincent W. Patton III, chair of the editorial board of the U.S. Naval Institute and a member of the board of visitors for the National Defense Intelligence College, received the Mack McKinney Award from the Non-Commissioned Officers Association.

Patton was the first African American to achieve the rank of master chief petty officer for the U.S. Coast Guard. He is a graduate of Pacific College and holds a master’s degree from Loyola University of Chicago, a master of theology degree in applied religious studies from the Graduate Theological Union in Berkeley, California, and an educational doctorate from American University.