Honors and Awards

• Andre R. Campbell, professor of clinical surgery at the University of California at San Francisco medical school, received the Martin Luther King Jr. Faculty Award from the university. Dr. Campbell was given the award for his leadership in advocating greater diversity in the medical field.

Dr. Campbell is a graduate of Harvard University. He received his medical training at the University of California at San Francisco School of Medicine.

• Doyle Temple, professor and chair of the department of physics at Hampton University, received the 2010 Outstanding Faculty Award from the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia.

Dr. Temple has been on the Hampton faculty for nearly 16 years. He is a graduate of Southern University and holds a Ph.D. in physics from MIT.

• Alvia Wardlaw, an associate professor of art history and director of the University Museum at Texas Southern University in Houston, received the Alumnae Achievement Award from Wellesley College.

• Michael White, professor of music and Spanish at Xavier University in New Orleans, was named 2010 Humanist of the Year by the Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities. Professor White is also a renowned jazz clarinetist, bandleader, and composer.

• Jeffrey T. Butler, professor and chair of the department of electrical and computer engineering at the United States Air Force Academy, received an award for Lifetime Achievement in Government from the National Society of Black Engineers.

Professor Butler is a graduate of the Air Force Academy. He holds a master’s degree in electrical engineering from Florida State University and a Ph.D. from the Air Force Institute of Technology.